247report: The West Indies women’s tour squad announced”

247report: The West Indies women’s tour squad announced”


Shemaine Campbelle | West Indies women's cricket player profile | The  Cricketer

A squad of fifteen players has been selected by the West Indies Women’s Selection Panel for the much awaited series against Sri Lanka. Three One Day Internationals (ODIs) and three T20 Internationals (T20Is) will be played in this thrilling series, which begins next month. The opening game of the series will take place in Galle on Saturday, June 15.

Vice-Captain Shemaine Campbelle assists Captain Hayley Matthews, who has been leading the squad in outstanding form, once again.

According to Lead Selector Ann Browne-John, “The ODI series gives the team a vital chance to earn more significant points in the Women’s Championship and is a critical first step towards automatic qualification for the Women’s Cricket World Cup.” The visit also gives the team the opportunity to continue training for the forthcoming T20 World Cup in Bangladesh in September, which takes place after the T20I series. The team will be able to hone their tactics, create a cohesive unit, and evaluate their strengths and weaknesses against top-tier opposition thanks to the comparable subcontinental circumstances in India. As they go closer to the T20 World Cup, the experience they’ve earned here will be priceless in helping them be ready for whatever obstacles lie ahead.

The ICC Women’s Championship includes the ODI series in Galle, which runs from June 15–21. The top five countries, including the host India, automatically qualify for the Cricket World Cup in 2025. Sri Lanka is now eighth on the table, tied on points with the West Indies women, who are currently ranked seventh.

Experienced Campbelle out, Knight twins return for Pakistan series -  Trinidad Guardian

The following is the complete team for the Sri Lankan tour:

Vice-captain Shemaine Campbelle and captain Hayley Matthews
Alleyne Aaliyah
Shamilia Connell
Fletcher Afy
Cherry Ann Fraser
Chinelle Gajnabi Shabika Henry Zada James Qiana Chedean Nation, Joseph
Karishma Ramharack
Rashawna Williams, Stafanie Taylor
Kate Wilmott

The following is the series’ team management unit:

Shane Deitz, head coach; Ryan Austin, assistant coach; Damien Wright, assistant coach
Gary Belle, Team Analyst
Tajay Grant, physiotherapist
Antonia Burton, Strength & Conditioning Coach
Coach of Performance: Dr. Nadine Sammy
Manager of the Team: Sheena Gooding

The following is the series’ complete match schedule:

West Indies Women vs. Sri Lanka Women

First ODI on Saturday, June 15 at Galle International Stadium, Galle

Tuesday, June 18: Galle International Stadium will host the second ODI.

Third One-Day International at the Galle International Stadium on Friday, June 21

First T20I on Monday, June 24, at Hambantota’s Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium

Wednesday, June 26, at Hambantota’s Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium—the second Twenty20 International

Third Twenty20 International on Friday, June 28 at the Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *